Are you looking for a little inspiration?

If you are an elementary classroom teacher in search of new strategies and professional networking, it’s not too late to register for next week’s New York State Elementary Classroom Teachers Association’s annual conference. Whether you’re looking for inspiration for your morning meeting, or might want to try combining fairy tales with science, there’s something for everyone during the three-day event Aug. 11-13 at the Hilton Westchester in Rye. Go to for information about the many sessions led by classroom teachers from around the state. On-line registration will be accepted through Thursday, Aug. 7. NYSECTA will also accept walk-in registrations on the first day of the conference.

Congratulations go to NYSECTA’s 2014 award recipients:

Teachers of the Year:
Pre-K: Darlene Colandrea, Hunter-Tannersville Schools
Kindergarten: Leslie Palmieri, Matthew Patterson School, Carmel Schools
First Grade: Megan Miller, Westminster Community Charter School, Buffalo
Second Grade: Thomas Whaley, Canaan Elementary School, Patchogue-Medford School District.
Fourth grade: Toni Gamils, Greenvale Elementary School, Eastchester Union Free Schools
Sixth grade: Sonya Lambert, Chazy Central Elementary School, Chazy Union Free School District.

Exceptional Leadership Award for an Elementary School Principal:
Lori Ann Roe, Durand-Eastman Intermediate School, East Irondequoit Schools

Joy of Effort Award: Lee Ann Cherpak, Eastplain School, Plainedge Schools

No comments yet.

Post Comment